Save Money By Shopping Online

Over the last few years, I’ve been doing more of my shopping online, especially for clothing and home décor items. And I’m becoming more convinced all the time that it’s a great way to save money… always a bonus!

There are a few ways to save when you buy online what you would buy anyway the next time you went to the mall.

Sign up for email updates from your favourite stores.

For me, it’s Carter’s, Old Navy and Zulily, just to name a few. I know those daily (or more!) emails can get a little annoying, but how else will you know when a store suddenly has a quick online-only sale? The best thing to do is to set up a separate email address solely for this purpose, so you don’t clutter up your usual inbox with all of these updates.

Get paid for shopping online.

Seriously.

I shop through Ebates. How does it work? Well, it’s simple: you sign up for an account at Ebates.ca, make sure every time you shop online you first go to their website, and then select the store you want to shop at. It will redirect you to that store’s website to complete your shopping. Ebates keep tracks of every dollar you spend and adds a certain (pre-determined) percentage of your purchase to your Ebates account, which you then receive in the mail every quarter (as a cheque).

And, when you sign up for Ebates, you can choose to get updates on sales and special events that stores might be holding for Ebates members. Every day there are a few different stores offering double cash-back or other good deals.

The only hard part is remembering head to the Ebates website before you shop.

Save money (and time!) by shopping from home.

Don’t waste your precious time driving around town looking for good deals. And we all know fuel is not cheap, so that’s an extra bonus for shopping online.

__________________

While I love to buy most of our clothing online, I realize that some of you might not agree with me. I’d love to hear your point of view.

How do you feel about online shopping?

5 thoughts on “Save Money By Shopping Online

  1. For clothes, I HATE online… I need to fit things on and see how they look before I buy.. Last time the girls ordered, most of the items never fit:( as for merchandise-books, electronics, chargers and cords, weapons, etc etc-100% a huge fan of online shopping.. do it ALL THE TIME! Especially Nathan at work-tremendous savings.. last week he ordered $4000 of special paint product that he priced out locally for $18,000-no brainer to us!!! 🙂

  2. I shop ALOT online… I don’t think I have ever bought anything tho… I always think if I need to return an item its a bigger hassle than its worth:)

Leave a Reply

