Us Moms… We’re NOT Just Ordinary!

Marcus - Free Digital Photos

Way back in August of last year, when I pressed “Publish” on my very first post here… my goal was to encourage other young moms like me, letting them know that they ARE a vital part of society, and not a lesser person for being “just a mom”. While I’ve veered slightly now and then, with more practical posts, a few recipes, links to other interesting articles, the over-all point was that we CAN be the mom we always wanted to be. I hope that has come through occasionally, and it’s not just staying in my head!

In today’s culture, moms (especially stay-at-home moms) are considered boring, ordinary, and nothing too special, at least compared to everything else a woman has opportunity to do. Why would you choose to stay at home with your kids when you could be making money in an office somewhere?

It’s like Kattrin Davida wrote: “[A new mother will] swiftly realize that in the balance of things motherhood is the most fulfilling role any woman could possibly experience in a lifetime. Placing everything into perspective, surely raising another human being well takes priority over almost anything else we could imagine?”

Life as a mother can sometimes feel like a rut that you’re stuck in for a long time. But a little perspective on what we do and who we are to the little ones around us can change our view on motherhood.

We have the greatest job in the universe, for we are molding and influencing the next generation of the human race, and thus, our future world, every. single. day.

 

All I am I owe to my mother.

I attribute all my success in life

to the moral, intellectual, and

physical education I received from her.

– George Washington 

6 thoughts on “Us Moms… We’re NOT Just Ordinary!

  1. “[A new mother will] swiftly realize that in the balance of things motherhood is the most fulfilling role any woman could possibly experience in a lifetime. Placing everything into perspective, surely raising another human being well takes priority over almost anything else we could imagine?” – wow.. this is spot on! Thank you for sharing that quote!!

  2. You gave me a great idea for a response the next time someone says something about staying home instead of working. I’ll just say, “Why would anyone choose to work when they could be home with their kids?” That might make them think about their own situation a little.

    • Hi! Well, thank you! I’m very proud of my mom for all she did… I think those who have no choice but to work AND be a mom are to be admired! I just know for myself, I sometimes feel a little boring compared to the rest of the world, and I’m guessing there are more moms like me out there. And I think EVERY mother out there deserves to know just how important their job is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

